RFBAQ Election – Ballot papers opened and counted – Areas Declared

Thursday, 3 Aug 2017

Townsville, Mackay and Darling Downs (formerly known as Toowoomba) RFBAQ Area Representatives ballot paper collection closed last Monday, 31st July and ballots were opened and counted yesterday by Tony Perrett, State MP for Gympie and Justin Choveaux, RFBAQ Returning Officer.

Tony opened the ballot paper box, unsealed voting envelopes and assigning ballots to candidate and areas. The RFBAQ would like to congratulate the following candidates declared as elect:

  • Jim Besgrove AFSM of Rangewood RFB was declared elect for the Townsville Area;
  • Steve Smith of Seaforth RFB was declared elect for the Mackay Area; and
  • Gary Patzwald of Hampton RFB was declared elect for the Darling Downs Area.

The RFBAQ's 18 Area Representatives are elected by the brigades in their respective areas and it was great to see more volunteers putting their hands up to give support to their brigades in an broader capacity. This is evident in the multiple nominations received in the 3 above areas and we would like to give a huge thank you to Warren Kelly for nominating to represent Townsville, Peter Pocock for nominating to represent Mackay and Patricia Curtis and Geoff Udy for nominating to represent Darling Downs.

Brigades will be notified by mail before Monday, 28th August and all ballot papers will be destroyed at the Senior Executive Management (SEM) meeting this September.

The RFBAQ thanks Tony Perrett MP for acting as scrutineer yesterday for our General Election and in helping us provide a transparent and fair election.

Until the RFBAQ General Meeting in October, when new representatives are inducted, Peter Pocock continues to be the RFBAQ Area Representatives for Mackay.

Members Login

Forgot Your Password?