Farewell Mike Garrahy AFSM President of the RFBAQ

Monday, 24 Nov 2014

On Tuesday the 12th November Mike Garrahy AFSM President of the RFBAQ sadly passed away peacefully surrounded by his family.

Mike’s funeral was held on Saturday the 22nd November in the Uniting Church at his home town of Crows Nest. Attended by his beloved family and friends the grounds were also were filled with yellow and orange as volunteers from across the state came to say their final farewell and to show their respect.

The show of rural fire and SES volunteers, RFSQ staff, RFBAQ District Representative, RFBAQ staff and MP’s including Ted Malone MP, Ray Hopper MP and Minister Jack Dempsey went to show how much Mike’s work for volunteer meant to everyone.

Mike was passionate in fighting for the conditions and rights of volunteers. With 20 years of service in the Police Force and SES, also volunteering in his local fire brigade, Mike knew what it was like to be at the coal face. His final role as President of the RFBAQ gave Mike the vehicle in which to fight to improve the quality of support and conditions for rural fire volunteers.

Click here to read The Queensland Times 'Moving tribute to inspirational rural firies leader' story.

Heavily involved with the Malone Review into the Rural Fire Service, Mike travelled across Queensland listening to the needs of thousands of rural fire volunteers. This confirmed many of his long held beliefs about how volunteers were being treated in Queensland.

On the 21st of November the RFBAQ SEM meeting held in Toowoomba unanimously resolved that as an organisation we pursue, whole heartedly and unreservedly the full implementation of the Malone Review in line with the intent of the Malone Review into the Rural Fire Service.

Alan Gillespie AFSM, RFBAQ Ipswich Representative will be Acting RFBAQ President until the full meeting of RFBAQ elected Representatives in Rockhampton in March 2015 and Nellie Baron, RFBAQ Charters Towers Representative will fill the vacancy on the SEM until this meeting.

At the General Meeting in March the position of President of the RFBAQ and the casual SEM vacancy will be called, with all RFBAQ elected Representatives present entitled to both nominate and vote for role of President.

The position of elected RFBAQ Toowoomba Representative will be held by the current Toowoomba Support Representative, Gary Patzwald, until the completion of the election process, which will commence mid-December 2014 with the calling for nominations. This process and election material will be mailed to every brigade secretary in the RFBAQ Toowoomba District (excluding brigades in the RFBAQ Miles District).

Members Login

Forgot Your Password?